Freaking fantastic sous vide asparagus

IMG_4968I had never even considered cooking asparagus sous vide.  After all it doesn’t need to be cooked for a long time, it’s easy enough to steam and I didn’t really see the need to infuse it with other flavors.  That all changed the other day when I was doing a large batch of veggies, it was time to cook dinner and I realized it would be easier to just vacuum pack my stalks and toss them in the pot.  I simply can not believe the difference in flavor.  They are more intense and more mild at the same time.  They actually taste fresher for lack of a better term.  I will not be hauling out the water bath every time I want to make some nice asperagus but if I’m already cooking sous vide I will certainly toss in some of these wonderful stalks and enjoy.

Step One – heat up sous vide water bath to 185

Step Two – Add asparagus, a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of salt to a bag and vacuum seal.

Step Three – Put in the water for 15 minutes

Step Four – Plunge the bag into ice water for a few minutes.  Open bag and enjoy.  I grated some lemon zest over mine before serving.

4 thoughts on “Freaking fantastic sous vide asparagus”

  1. I too love asparagus cooked sous-vide. As the cooking temperature is not very cricial, you can even do it in a stock pot with a thermometer. Just keep the temperature between 185 and 190/195. Should be doable for 15 mins!

    1. Thanks! Great tip! I read your blog quite a bit and use it often as a basis for temp and time information. I’m working on a post about butternut squash sous vide with sage, and my latest favorite side, rosemary potatoes.

Leave a Reply

