Sous vide beet carpaccio

IMG_3430I love beets! I love them, but many people don’t. Here’s a beet recipe I came up with that satisfies even the beet haters amongst my friends. It introduces a savory element through thyme infused in a sous vide slow cook. The beets come out perfect every time and it’s a lot less messy than roasting in your oven. They are simply beautiful and will dazzle your dinner guests. I often take these to dinner parties as a starter and they never fail to amaze.

IMG_3441

20140104-131648.jpgWhen you serve them always introduce an acid element such as vinegar or lemon juice. I’ve served them simply on a white plate with lemon juice and lemon zest sprinkled on top or I’ve made a micro green salad with them. Here I paired them with humbolt fog goat cheese, micro arugula, baby kale and some walnuts. I lightly drizzled it with a champaign vinaigrette.

Recipe

Preheat the sous vide water bathe to 185.

Peel and thinly slice the beets.

Place in a vacuumed sealed bag with a sprinkle of salt, a drizzle of olive oil and 2 sprigs of thyme.  Vacuum seal the bags and place in the preheated sous vide.

Cook for 2 hours and afterwards immediately submerge in a ice water bath for 10 minutes to stop the cooking process.  If you’re feeling lazy you don’t even need to do this since you’re cooking veggies, it just means they keep cooking so your texture could be slightly less firm than you want. You can serve immediately or keep your little gems in the fridge for a month. They are great right out of the bag but they benefit from added acid and a peppery element such as arugula or just a sprinkle of pepper.

9 thoughts on “Sous vide beet carpaccio”

    1. Have you checked out the new Nomiku? Or the sansaire? I blogged about them in my other site, feedingmonkeys.com. They are smaller than a hairdryer and use a stock pot. I have been very behind on the blog. Doing lots of Instagram lately.

      1. Thank you so much. I wouldn’t have heard about the Namiku without you. I just bought it. Hopefully I’ll receive it in a few weeks.

        I like the look the Sansaire, but Nomiku had better reviews.

        So, what else should I be purchasing? 🙂

      2. Ha! I think they owe me a free one with how much I’ve been pushing them. I absolutely love mine. The only complaint would be that you can’t do large batches, but I can do plenty for me. I can’t wait to see what you create with one! Check out some of my links on this site for tips and recipes for sous vide cooking. svkitchen is one of the best. Myy latest must have toy is a really awesome torch my hubby got me for valentines day. I’m working down the list of must haves from Modernist Cuisine at Home.

  1. when you submerge in a “nice water bath” do you mean “ice water” or is “nice water” referring to a milder temp? Sorry, I’m not nit picking, I don’t want to mess this up 🙂

    1. OMG this post has been up forever and you just found the type-o!!! Thank You! I’ve now corrected it to be ‘”ICE WATER” you win some sort of prize I think. The ice water only stops the cooking process and in this case is not at all important for food safety. I’ve found the beets to be quite forgiving and when I’m really lazy I skip the ice bath and toss them in the fridge. It just makes the texture less consistent. I might get voted off top chef but my family doesn’t seem to care 🙂 Enjoy!

  2. Found your site while researching Sous Vide Beets. Excellent recepie and guidance. I cut them about 1/4″ and bagged with a little salt, a slight dusting of powdered thyme and a little olive oil. After 2 1/2 hours at 185f, I dunked into a cold water bath for about 5 min and into the fridge for about 1 hour.
    Then on to a bed of arugula and some micro greens, 4 beet slices, goat cheese crumbles, a few broken walnuts, drizzle of champagne vinegar and a healthy zest of orange.
    In short – OMG

    Thank you for your care and inspiration!

    1. Thank you! You may also enjoy experimenting with preserved lemons in the sous vide. It speeds up months to hours and you get those lemony, salty, funky wedges to toss in everything. I actually think it’s a flavor that pairs well with these beets!

Leave a Reply

